c000021a fatal stop error

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok I have searched for hours on this with no luck yet. I am a pc technician and I have a customer's pc in here that was stuck in a boot loop. After disabling the automatic restart on failure so I could see the error message, it turned out to be the c000021a fatal stop message. I have researched that error up and down but nothing relates to my situation. I tested the RAM and the hard drive, they are fine. I did a chkdsk.. no help. I decided to go ahead and do a repair install, well it never makes it through it, it just keeps rebooting, saying Setup is being restarted.................. and reboots again. I'm screwed at this point because I cannot get into safe mode since it just tells me that setup cannot continue in safe mode. I have tried all the options on the F8 screen. I tried doing a fixmbr and a bootcfg /rebuild just for the hell of it..nothing is working. I really dont want to have to tell the customer that they need to reinstall. Not that its a huge deal but as anyone knows, its a royal pain in the *** to backup files (on your own pc, much less anyone else's where there's the fear of forgetting something). Is there a way to manually cancel to the stupid XP setup? I have tried some suggestions but mainly I'm told to look on the OS choices menu off the F8 screen, but there is NO cancel XP setup option. I know you can access system restore from a command prompt, maybe going to a day earlier would fix this, but the only command prompt I can get to is in the Recovery console and it wont let me run the program from in there. I tried a 98 startup disk and was told the program couldnt be run from ms-dos mode.