Calling all Raid 0 Gurus: I need raid 0 help

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a couple questions as I’m fairly new to setting up a raid with a more serious card (Promise Fastrak SX4-M vs. Intel ICH5R). I have a three drive setup (3x Seagate Barracuda 160GB) and my operating system is going on it. I never really paid too much attention to it until now. The promise gives me the option of a 16, 32 and 64k “stripe block”. I formatted it with a 64k stripe size and ran HDTach which gave me an average of like 110mb/sec. I felt it was a little slow as I have a 400gb (Seagate Barracuda) achieving close to 70mb/sec so I went back to see if I configured anything improperly but I don’t think I did as the promise does not offer many options (stripe block: 16, 32 or 64; Fast Init: Y/N). Also, the drives are detected as 159999mb x 3 = 479997. In windows it appears as a 444GB drive in My Computer and when you right click and select properties for the drive, it shows up as a drive with a capacity of 477 as opposed to 479… On my Intel raid, when I had just two drives, it would show up as 320 (2x 160) for the capacity.

Cliffs (Questions):
Should my 3 drive raid 0 configuration be faster than 110mb/sec; Are more drives in a raid 0 environment better for speed?
How do I interpret the 16, 32, and 64 “stripe block” options the card gives me and where should I set it for OS use?
How do I explain the loss of space as explained above?

FYI - I am not setting up this raid for redundancy, all i want out of this is speed. I have separate drives that i regularly back up to. In addition, I have adequate cooling to all drives and have never experienced a failure since aiming fans directly at them...

Why is everyone asking for gurus?
Let me give you a good piece of advice - never trust a guy who says he is a guru or knows everything about something.

I have never operated a RAID0 array in my life, but I can still try to answer your questions.