Cannot perform tak in DOS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Please bare with me I am not very good at this stuff and probably am not explaining it well, but I could really use some help!

My husband is currently trying to install windows XP onto our computer. He crashed the computer and deleted everything off of it. Now when he tries to install the XP, while in Setup EXE in DOS, he get's an error message that says, Cannot perform task in DOS! Does anyone know why it is doing this? I really need help!

Thank you so much!

press f11 when you reboot your pc, keep pressing f11, you will then get an option for boot up, select cd, insert xp disc press enter, that should fix thatr

Just to add to what tomrca said, you can't install XP through Dos....Must boot from the CD..

XP CAN be installed from DOS.

In WinXP, Setup.exe is only run from a windows environment. The correct file to start an install from DOS is winnt.exe or winnt32.exe in the i386 forder of the installation CD.

Where there is no OS installed on your Hard drive...

Boot with a Windows 98 Start Up disk
Insert the Windows 98 CD into the CD drive
Run smartdrv.exe from the Win98 directory on the windows 98 CD
Type "cd.." to back up to the root directory
Insert Windows XP CD into the CD reader
Copy the i386 folder to C:\
Go into C:\i386 folder on C: and type winnt.exe to launch the setup from the hard drive.

Where you have booted from a Win98 startup disk with no OS installed, and do not have the win98 CD...

Copy i386 folder to C:\
Go into C:\i386 folder and double click on winnt.exe to launch the setup from the hard drive .

I've never done it myself as I've never needed to. I've just booted from the CD to install.
Startup disk can be found here if you don't have one... http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm