Cannot share printer or files on wireless network - internet OK.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Absinthe Minded

Hello all,

I'm trying to set up file and printer sharing on a desktop and laptop with xp on both. The internet connection is fine, shared through a Belkin router. The router is wired to the desktop and the laptop connects wirelessly.

If I try to add a printer to the laptop via 'Add new printer' I cannot browse the network - I get a message saying "Mshome is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions."

Also, I can't share files between the two computers.

Any help would be much appreciated.

If you need more info, please ask - I'm not very good at networking.

Thanks,
Nick.

Hi daniel,

Yes, I ran the network wiz but I'll re-run it and make sure the workgroup names match.

Many thanks, I'll get back to you soon - it's not actually my PC so I'll have to check it tomorrow.

Cheers,
Nick.

Did you share the printer at your desktop??? Before you install the printer thru network or sharing, share the printer first.

all systems which access a SHARE or share a resource need to allow specific
ports to be opened. If you use the freebe firewall with XP
(suggest you do some homework on this subject), then on the Exceptions Tab
just enable Print/File Sharing.

Otherwise, you need ports 135,137,139,445 to/from ONLY your lan address range.

Frankly, I find it easier to get Folder Shares running first as there's no need to
install print drivers and it's quick to see success/failure.

Hello all,

Thanks, joe for your comments - I will read up on the firewall and try to check out the ports.

There have been some developments today:

I found that I could ping the laptop from the desktop using both name and IP but couldn't ping the desktop from the laptop (using name or IP).