Can't access netgear router wizard

Status
Not open for further replies.

poertner_1274

I have tried to access my netgear ro318 router through 192.168.0.1 multiple times to setup my home network, but it won't go for some reason. I have tried on 2 different machines. I currently have my DSL setup to my main PC and have been trying to setup the router with that PC, as well as the other one.

Anyway, I connect the modem to the router and then the router to the 2 PC's. Restart everything, and try to access the router to setup DHCP on it, but I cannot get logged into it.

I think I am overlooking something simple here, but I cannot figure it out. Any suggestions are welcome.

This is my first time trying to setup a home network with DSL (so I feel like a 12 year old who just got a car and doesn't know how to drive it), I have done it at school with ethernet, but that was a piece of cake, this is racking my brain.

Are you aure 192.168.0.1 is the sorrect address? My router uses 192.168.1.254 as default for example.

Some routers also have special software or telnet based access in addition to/instead of the web based configuration.

Also, the router takes some time to boot up, you should give it a minute or at least 30 seconds at least.

I suspect problems if you have set your PC to obtain the IP configuartion automatically and you haven't configured DHCP on the router yet or the router hasn't booted up yet when windows asks for DHCP info.

I have let it sit for several minutes, but to no avail. I will try some new addresses as papa instructed me to use 192.168.1.1, but I swear my manual says .0.1 We'll see when I get home I'll let everyone know. Thanks Nodsu.

Ok, well I don't know what happened, but I reset the router and all is well now. Thank you all for the suggestions. I was simply overlooking an easy solution