Can't decide on a laptop, argh!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thalin

Hey all,

I'm looking for a new (well, first ever) laptop for uni this year. I am an art student so will be using it mainly for graphics software, image editing, and the normal music listening etc. Power to run games well would also be a plus :) So I guess it's mainly a multimedia laptop. I don't want to be spending any more that 400/450 pounds to be honest.

I have my eyes mainly on http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/126329/rb/0 and http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/prod...esc&filter_category=&filter_string=&offset=10

The second seems to have slightly better specs for a slightly more expensive price, but im more a fan of AMD to be honest. Maybe another laptop on Ebuyer http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/store/5/category/Laptops would suit me more.

Any advice is very much appreciated.

All of those have integrated graphics, so they might not have the graphical processing power you are looking for. Does Dell have a European website? If they do you might want to take a look at their Vostro line.

Over familiarity is forbidden on this forum. Besides I am big and brave and very very English so we don't do that sort of thing.
Buy the thing.
Today!
Jeepers I deserve a commission from Acer on this one!

It would appear not - but the usual specification sheet is missing on this one and no trace of the model number on the Acer UK site.
If you are not sure about x2, you probably do't need it. A beefy graphics card would probably be of more use to you in what you are planning to do.

And the card in the model I was disappointed to find was not x2 is, in your opinion, a good card? 6100 I think it was.

I cannot remember which is which now - the salient point is that where there is the system RAM is shared to provide memory for the graphics card the performance is not as good as where the graphics card has it's own dedicated memory modules.