Cant make it work

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fizics

i just finished putting it all together and low and behold it didnt work the mobo has power the hardrive is spinning but i get nothing no beep no post. nothing. i couldnt find anything about clearing the cmos in the manual or anything about jumpers (there could be but i didnt see it) if anyone has any ideas it would be really apreciated

asus p5nd2-sli
intel pentium d 805
1 GB pny ram
80 GB WD SATA

this is my first build so im sure i missed something stupid

Start with resetting your bios and see if you can boot up. See page 2-22 of your manual on how to do this with the board's jumpers.

If this doesn't fix you up, confirm the following:

-Do you have the 12v power connection seated? Your motherboard needs two connections, the 24 pin and the 12v connector.
-Did you use riser pins between your motherboard and the case?
-What is your graphics card? Does it require its own power connection? Most newer cards do. If so, did you connect it?
-What speed is your ram? Take it out and re-seat it.
-What make/model is your PSU? How many watts is it rated at and how many amps does it have on the +12v rail? You can find this info on the sticker attached to the PSU side.

Let us know these first. Good luck!

i think the 12v connecter is the problem....but i have no clue where it is on the mobo

nvm i got the 12v connector figured out let me see how it works

O Yeah Im In Buisness Thanks So Much For The Help

but now i have no clue how to get windows running

ok i got into windows setup now the problem im having is that it wants me to insert the windows xp cd .... well its already in, do i need my previous windows cd (98) and then install xp from that ? or what

Go into your bios and check the boot device priority. You want to have the the CD drive listed BEFORE the Hard drive.