Can't play Battle of Middle Earth

Status
Not open for further replies.
My kids got Battle of Middle Earth for their computer, but, I couldn't load it because we only had W98SE. I bought the W2K upgrade, loaded it in and reloaded all the w2k drivers for everything on the computer. The game loaded fine, but, when my son went to play, there was absolutely no response. Seems there's digital signature problems with the graphics and sound. Other than playing the game, everything is working fine with the W2k.
I have a Soyo KT333 Dragon Ultra MB, AMD XP2400 processorr, 180GB Hard drive, 512MB RAM, nVidia GeForce FX5700LE video card and on board sound.
As I'm rather new at these kind of problems, I downloaded a new driver (#61.77) from nVidia - NG. Then I downloaded #66.93 for nVidia video cards right from the Microsoft web site - NG. I figure I'll get a sound card and disable the on-board sound, if I can get the graphics to work. This is the first that I've run into these kind of problems. Any ideas ? Also, what would be a decent sound card that would work with this MB.
My kids are chomping at the bit to play the game !!

STILL no luck with LOR - Battle for Middle Earth