Chipmunks in my computer...

Status
Not open for further replies.

mommalden

Hi, I am totally new to this sort of board and am in no way a computer guru. I am a housewife with issues (in more ways than one) and right now it is this darm computer that consumes me. I bought speakers and when I plugged them in everything sounds like chipmunks. As well, when I installed my daughters online school program the video clips run very fast as well. It is like everything is on fast forward. What should I do? I am sure this is an easy question for some but its a doozey for me.

momma-a

Maybe there is something wrong with your speakers as in that the wiring is incorrect whcih can cause the static. Is it static? Another option is to get another sound card. You can download sound drivers according to your current sound card. Please post more info as it is imperative in order to solve this problem. Info as in what sound rivers you have, sound card, and other things that may pertain to this issue.

I don't think it has anything to do with video/sound cards or even the speakers... It seems similar to a problem I heard of before - apparently some of the "less develloped" dual cores will run everything super fast...

Give us some details on your system..

Btw, when will we see you on Desperate Housewives?:p

Regards,

Korrupt

well......

I don't even watch that show!!! I guess I'm the only one eh?..........

My system eh? well, what I can tell you is this computer was a hand me down given to my non-profit by the DOD. Former govt. computer that a friend rebooted? and reset with the orginal program of Windows XP Pro.

As to the sound card I am not even sure how to find out what I have to any sort of definate. The name I could find is
Intel (R)82801BA/BAM AC'97 Auto Controller...and status is ok.

Not sure if this will help. It is just like everything is in fast forward.