Cleaned-out Windows?

Status
Not open for further replies.

yhzhuo

Hi,
I'm posting this on behalf of a friend, who's system got 'wiped out' overnight; Windows seems to have reinstalled itself - everthing was restored to factory settings, so to speak.

Here're the AVG Antispyware and HijackThis logs.

And of course you know that could not have happened. Find our more about what he or she did with that machine in the previous 24 hours.

I thought it's weird as well, and explained there may be little anyone can do to restore those settings.

In any case, the logs seem to show abnormalities (I'm no expert but some of the items on the HJT log look suspicious), hence I posted hoping that at the very least, I can help to get the system clean.

That system is infected with malware.

Delete all files in AVG Antispyware quarantine, then do the following.

Go and read the Viruses/Spyware/Malware, preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly.

Post fresh HJT, AVG Antispyware and Combofix logs as attachments into this thread, only after doing the above.

Also, let me know the results of the AVG Antirootkit scan.

Regards Howard :)

This thread is for the use of yhzhuo only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.

You might want to copy and paste these instructions into a notepad file. Then you can have the file open in safe mode, so you can follow the instructions easier.

Boot into safe mode, under your normal user name(NOT THE ADMINISTRATOR ACCOUNT). See how HERE.

In Windows Explorer, turn on "Show all files and folders, including hidden and system". See how HERE.

Click start/run and type services.msc into the run box and press the enter key.

When the window appears, maximise it. Double click on the following services(if there) and select stop if they are running. Set the startup type to disabled. Click apply/ok for each service you disable.