Computer crashes + Reappearing Virus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dariela

I was wondering if anyone would be able to help me, I'm having problem with my computer randomly restarting. I haven't recently installed anything and whenever I open up task manager theres a process called ~WCTRUP.exe which I've never noticed before. I've looked it up using google and such and it says something about being apart of the windows updating system, however I've been updating my windows xp for the past 2 years and this process only appeared in the past couple of months. I've done numerous virus/trojan/ad scans and during the AVG scans I do, I keep recieving the same virus called Trojan horse Downloader.Generic2.MUZ, i've tried healing it, deleting the file it's apart of but nothing seems to be helping.

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Let`s see if we can get rid of any nasties you may have lurking on your system.

I have moved your thread to our security and the web forum.

Go and read the Trojan Pakes and other nasties preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly.

Post fresh HJT and AVG Antispyware logs as an attachments into this thread, only after doing the above.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

This thread is for the use of Dariela only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.

HJT and AVG

Ok, i've done everything that was asked and here are the 2 reports you requested. During the AVG anti-spyware test there were 3 infections that were Quarantined, I had to do a second scan because I misunderstood the way to quarantine all the files at once.. I'm not sure if the report from the second scan will show those previously quarantined so I thought i'd list the first lot of infections below..

Infected with: Adware.Savenow
Risk: Medium

Infected with: Dialer.EgroupDial.w
Risk: High

Infected with: Dialer.EgroupDial.w
Risk: High