Computer freezes randomly or doesn't boot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi!

I'm wondering if anyone could help a complete newbie.
Here is my problem - my 3 year old computer commonly freezes during startup or shortly after (during the first several minutes). After those first critical minutes have passed, the machine can go on running smoothly for hours.
After the problem first appeared (a few months ago), a simple solution seemed to be to plug in USB devices only after Windows (2000 SP4) was running and not before turning the computer on.
It seems that now the problem is getting worse and worse, USB devices connected or not, the computer tends to hang.
Once reset, it usually fails to boot at all. The fans are running, the drives respond, but the green LED on the case (power?) is off and the screen stays black (no beeps). It takes quite a lot of attemps to even get to the memory test.

I wonder where to start? I just downloaded and ran SpeedFan and here are the results:

Temp1: 41C
Temp2: 52C
Temp3: 35C
HD0: 47C
Temp1: 40C

Vcore1: 1,74V
Vcore2: 2,56V
+3.3V 3,30V
+5V: 4,92V
+12V: 13,44V
-12V: -12,03V
-5V: -5,26V
+5V: 2,88V (!!!!)
Vbat: 3,25V

I don't have a clue with what components those voltages correspond to, but those +12V and +5V look suspicious for me.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Cheers
Piotr

i think it could be the motherboard. did you install any new hardware/any usb ports damaged? are usb devices recognized on your computer? temps seem to be fine.

pc specs please.

first i suggest you to do a scan of your pc of nasties (mal/spy/adware, viruses etc..) and also do a chkdisk and defrag (if possible)

then open up your case and clean out all the dust with some compressed air, or carefully with a vaccum cleaner.