Computer keeps rebooting in games

Status
Not open for further replies.

Exonimus

yeah.. so.. my good old gaming pc has some problems. I've been running it perfectly for more than 2 years, reinstalled windows only once, and my guess is that it's time to do so again. The thing is, my computer suddenly reboots when running any game. It might take a few seconds, even at the game menu, it might take a minute, but then it reboots. I already disabled automatic rebooting. There's no error message, at all. I haven't recently purchased any new hardware. the current hardware has always worked. About a year ago I inserted a 7600GS and a new cooler, but it has been working great for the time. I can rule out the overheating problem. I have a zalman CNPS 9500CU cooling my amd athlon 64 3000+ venice. It's usually running a bit over fourty degrees when stressed, so that's no problem at all. I've got a zalman vf700Cu for my graphics card, has also not posed a problem. The temperature is around 57 degrees, not sure what it is ingame, but it's kind of unlikely to just start overheating. if I remember correctly it's about 70C, but then, I cant test it now..
I've blown the dust out of my case, also to no avail. I'm not sure what else I could test before reinstalling windows. I don't think it's my power supply, because of the fact it has been running so well for years. From the top of my head, it's an Antec, but I need to recheck that.

For the rest, my system specs:
Amd athlon 64 3000+ venice(s939)
Asus A8V-deluxe
1GB ram(kingston hyperX)
antec power supply(500/600W)
160GB harddisk(seagate)

if you need any more information , just tell. I'd love to have some quick replies since my plan was to go to have a small LAN party with a few friends. Obviously wont work if my pc keeps rebooting in games :p

so any advice would be appreciated, otherwise, I'll reinstall windows

oh, forgot to mention. I'm running windows XP x64

Hello Exonimus and welcome to Techspot.