Computer Networking vs. Computer Science

Hello everyone. A short while ago I stumbled upon your website while searching for answers to some concerns that I have. Some other new posters here had similar problems to my own, and I saw that the input from people here was excellent. Figured I'd give it a shot.

Let me start out with saying I am a 21 year old student of a community college. I have been attending, drifting really, for 3 years without getting serious in any type of degree. It took a few years but I have finally decided on settling upon either a computer sciences degree or networking.

My concern is that without as indepth an understanding of both professions as I would like, I can't make an educated choice on which degree I should focus on. I am certainly not new to computers, but the knowledge I possess is paltry compared to most first year computer-anything students.

Now with computer networking, I am in love with everything I have seen offered. The ability to integrate vast networks of computers is intriguing. It seems to me that computer networking is not only a good choice for it being something I can enjoy, but will also earn me a good salary.

Computer sciences covers very interesting topics that I wouldn't mind learning about. Theorizing in such things as robotics and artificial intelligence would be an amazing thing to do with my life. As good as having a career with networking may be, I find that POSSIBLY with computer sciences, I can do something more epic in my life. My hesitation is the actual way in which I apply computer sciences to my profession. Is it really all programming and writing code, spending countless hours in front of a computer, getting carpel tunnel syndrome, and inevitably punching a fax machine with my bare hands?

While I find the topics of computer sciences to be truly interesting, I fear the reality of implementing those "theorizes" will result in me hating computer sciences, my job, life etc.