Computer not receiving packets from router

Status
Not open for further replies.
I use a router in my house that goes around to 4 computers and share the internet access. (I have the router connected to the modem)

Yesterday, one of the computers' internet stopped working.
I renewed the IP, tried re-plugging the cable, but those didn't fix it.

I plugged that computer's cable into another computer and it connected to the internet... so I'm guessing that it's the computer's problem.

The computer recognizes the cable when I unplug/plug it in. It says that LAN network is connected. But on the status screen it says that I'm not receiving packets. (something like 724 sent, 0 received)

Does anybody know what's causing this problem?

(Sorry if I don't know the technical terms.. I'm not very good at using technology.)

In the Network connections, are the TCP/IP properties set to "Obtain an IP address automatically"?
What make/model of router do you have?
What IP do you get, when in a Command-box you type: ipconfig /all

IP not renewing correctly?

I have a LinkSys router... I don't know exactly the model...
Both computers are set to obtain IP automatically.

On the functional machine the IP is 192.168.1.148
On the non-functional machine the IP is 192.168.1.145

When I renew the IP on the non-funtional one, it still renews it to 192.168.1.145 (As opposed to telling me that it can't be renewed)

Another weird thing is that on the non-functional computer the physical address turns out as FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF.

Thx guyz

Looks like your Network Interface Card (NIC) might be shot.
From a working PC, try to ping the baddie. In a command session type ping 192.168.1.145
Ping a known goodie from the baddie as well.
If you can, try and swap the NIC or at least reseat the NIC. Perhaps move it to another slot, further away from the AGP-slot.