Computer not starting

Status
Not open for further replies.

israel02

Hey guys,
I'm new to the board... did a google search and found this one...
So.. my problem is that my computer wasn't starting for a while.. so i tried everthing and the thing that would make it start was adjusting the voltage thing on the back of the computer... I have a dell 2400 series and it's about a year and a half old. Now i can't get it to start no matter what.. I have no knowledge about computers so that's wh i'm looking for help here. I read a little bit about the voltage thing in this forum w/ someone having similiar problems and i guess your not supposed to play with it haha.. so did i fry the computer or can i just purchase a new voltage thing. Sorry if i sound ignorant but it's because i've never had computer problems before and I dont really know the anatomay of one... Thanks to all that offer suggestions!!
Israel

does the screen show any messages at all?
does it make any beep sounds? long? short?

mine wouldnt boot up either. i found out with the beep codes that the problem was with memory.

gl

I agree with Tinku, we need more info from you.

Details please. What exactly happens when you power up. What can you hear? What can you see?

What voltage to you have the selector on the back of your PSU set to?

Well.. i have very basic knowledge about my computer but i'll do my best.. .