Computer will not boot up with Win XP

Status
Not open for further replies.
Home built system with Mobo EVGA 650i Ultra, and Intel 2 Duo E6600 CPU. The system bios starts up, but when pressing ESC it does not go into bios and then I end up with a blank monitor screen. It may be the IDE hard rive, but I do not know how to test. I would appreciate any assistance, suggestions because I am a novice. The system seemed to be running great, but all of a sudden this popped up.

The first thing to try is clearing the cmos. Your mobo manual will tell you how to do it.

You may also need a ps2 keyboard to get into the bios for the first time.

Try with another keyboard before you do anything else.
Do you get any beeps when you boot the system?
A problem with the HDD would not normally show up until after pressing ESC or DEL to enter the BIOS settings.

I checked the EVGA website and your motherboard manual says to hit the "Delete" key to enter the BIOS.

mailpup said:
I checked the EVGA website and your motherboard manual says to hit the "Delete" key to enter the BIOS.

+1
every intel based chipset I have ever used used "delete" to enter the bios during startup.

I have tried ESC button to change the boot drive to the CDROM from the hard drive where Win XP is installed. I have tried to reinstall but nothing happens except for the bios to hang up. I don't hear any beeps. When pressing the delete key the bios hangs up.

Bios problems arises from faulty hardware configuration and its hangs when no return confirmation from the device - check you ide cables too - If you using latest motherboards winxp2 os required - but in your case the fault is definetly from a hardware failure which is not responding to the bios configuration loaded while switch on the pc

Bamalek - providing you have a speaker attached or on board, no beeps means no working motherboard.