Configuring Thunderbird to access Yahoo mail

Status
Not open for further replies.

hiker

I use Thunderbird and need to access Yahoo mail. Only to find out that I need to download YPops as a go-between between Thunderbird and Yahoo.

I tried configuring Ypops but it seems to not do anything. I still can't access Yahoo mail. Does anyone use Thunderbird and Ypops to help me? I certainly would appreciate it. I've read on forums and helps available on the web, followed the steps they laid down but nothing works.

this is nothing more than a proxy bound to the 127.0.0.1 (localhost)
for both inbound(port 110) and outbound(port 25) email.

the ypops proxy must be downloaded and installed.

Sorry I am very new with this, I would like to configure my Sea Monkey E-mail Client.

1. I tried to follow the steps mentioned above, however I still not able to get my email client working.

2. do I still need to install ypop 0.9.5 before I set up my account?

Thanks

>>>2. do I still need to install ypop 0.9.5 before I set up my account?

yes :)

If you currently have yahoo plus, you can download your email to thunderbird. With yahoo standard you cannot unless you use a go between. As this thread is quite old, I am sure by now you can use something like ypops, but I cannot be certain.

Thanks jobeard, I beginning to receive email from my yahoo mail.

thanks Tedster I want something free.

Now i am not able to sent email i have sent port to 25. is that correct?

Configure Ypop to sent mail

Sorry I do have trouble to sent email on my thunderbird. I hope someone can give me direction on how to configure.

without a yahoo plus account, you will need a go between like ypops. TB 2.0 does not support ypops to my knowledge. I have a plus account and I can download my emails directly to TB. It's only $20 a year and well worth it for me.

OR

as an alternative - get a gmail account from google. You don't need a go between and you can also download emails directly to TB 2.0 and it's free.