CPU bad performance, loooow FPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bellroth

Hi

I have read almost all the threads inhere about low performance and bad FPS but i cant find anything that looks like my own problem. And sorry if i ask stupid questions but im no expert...

I recently bought a new computer cuz my old wasnt good enough anymore, cant remember the specs but it was sumthing like

XP1600+
768 ram pc2700
FX5200

The new computer specs are

Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 3.06GHz
NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT
768 ram still pc2700 (gettin 1 gb 3200 tomorrow)

The problem is that my new computer runs almost the same as my old computer; in WoW (like 30 fps outside cities, 10 inside) and in JK2 i got unstable fps 20-60 and cant get it higher no matter what.

I ran a benchmark 2003 on high performance in graphic and scored bout 5500. After that i used the default setting for my graphic but changed to high quality and got a score on 6913. Doesnt make sense to me. My results:

Game test did 126.7 - 56.4 - 47.0 - 43.8
CPU test did 36.0 and 7.1
Feature test did
Single-text: 1481.7 MTexels/s
Multi-text: 3778.8 Mtexels/s
Vertex shader: 20.3 fps
pixel shader 2.0: 115.2 fps
Ragtroll 28.3 fps

Sry if i write too much or if my english might be bad. But it seems like the CPU is running pretty bad...

//Bellroth

im not really sure about the FPS but i just wanted to warn you, i think ive heard around that you cant mix Freq of Ram, you have 768mb of 2700..im not sure you can mix it with a 3200 module, maybe im wrong!

Oh maybe i didnt elaborate that enough. My RAM atm is pretty suxors, i'm running with 512 PC2700 and 256 PC3200. Im going to switch those 2 blocks with 2 * 512 PC3200 so i only have 1024. Dont really need anymore, i think, and im gonna use the other blocks to spec up my 2 kid bro's computers, since they really need the RAM.