CPU turns on, but monitor says "no signal"

Status
Not open for further replies.
this is my first build (its definitely the way to go if any of you are thinkin about tryin it out) and ive had no complaints except this one problem ...

my computer seems to refuse to boot up whenever it doesnt want to run ... i hit the power button and all the fans start running n lights come on inside the tower, but nothing else happens ... usually have to hit the reset button a couple times or turn it off with the power button n it will boot up when it wants to and ive been dealing with it by not turning off or restarting my computer (sadly lol) but its getting annoying ... sometimes i get the beeps from the mobo and the screen comes on n other times ill get the beeps but nothing happens ... ive gone a week restarting my computer (manually) sometimes before it decides to boot back up in the past ...

when it does decide to boot back up jus before loading up XP i get a message about an error in the boot up (which i cant remember off the top of my head unfortunately) n the next line appears saying its going to boot from C:\Windows and everything runs fine once it gets passed there ...

I've tried turning everything off, unplugging everything, and plugging it all back in ... I've tried clearing out the inside with an air duster ... I've tried 2 different monitors ... i dont know what else to do ..

please help ... thx

*edit* almost forgot

Mobo: Gigabyte P35C DS3R
CPU: IC2D E6750 2.66ghz
2 Western Digital 500gb 7500rpm drives in a RAID array
1 Western Digital 75gb 10000rpm drive
Running XP Pro
XFX GeForce 7900GS video card

O and the other thing ive tried is using the D-Sub cable by itself, the DVI cable by itself, and both at the same time .. doesnt seem to make a difference either way (didnt think it would be figured what the hell)

thx for the help ...