Direct Draw Error

Status
Not open for further replies.
I purchased a HP AMD64 3500+ computer and installed a 256mb ATI X700 Pro PCIE video card. When I attempted to play a game "American Conquest - Three Centuries of War" the screen goes black and I get the following message.
Loading error (2)
Unable to initialize Direct Draw
It is possible that the hardware acceleration is turned off.

I ran the windows diagnostic program and everything checked OK and shows that the acceleration is turned on. I have basic knowledge on computers so I I asked the computer guru at work what he thought the problem may be. He said he had never heard of Direct Draw. I went as far as to run the recovery disks and reinstall windows in case there was a problem when first loaded at the factory. Didn't correct the problem. I have always had Intel systems and was wondering if this is a quirk with AMD since the game worked on my old Intel 933 system.
Thanks for any assistance.
Clay

i too have the same freakin error which sucks cause i used to play this exact game on my same computer. the only thing i can think of is i upgraded my video card and it may not like the change. but direct draw is simply a graphics engine similar to directx, i just wish someone would help me out with this... :confused:

The most common cause of this is not having the mainboard chipset drivers installed correctly, bad or missing DirectX 9.0c, or incorrectly installed video drivers.

Just because windows has acceleration- it doesn't mean you have DirectX acceleration working. You can check this by going:
Start Menu, Run
and type: dxdiag in the box and press OK

DxDiag has tabs. If you click on the tab at the top labeled "Display", it will report the Acceleration status of DirectX/Direct Draw/Direct 3D.

If DxDiag does not launch, you need to re-install DirectX 9.0c from www.microsoft.com/directx