Does CPU just have to match the socket number?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lostfuze

I have a quick question about how CPU and mobo's go together. I'm completely new to all of this, and everyone here seems really helpful. :cool:

As I have described in other threads i'm having trouble finding a motherboard for my Intel Celeron 2.50GHz 845GV CPU. The Socket number is 478.

Does my CPU just have to match the 478 socket, or is it deeper than that?

Any info on this would be great.. and if someone could explain how all of this works, it would be even greater. It's driving me crazy. :rolleyes:

If you want to help me even more... here is another thread of mine. https://www.techspot.com/vb/topic21629.html

Thanks!

cpu

A processor has to have the same socket type and also has to be a front side bus speed that the motherboard supports. Celerons have 400 (or 533 fsb for celeron D)fsb speeds. A motherboard that supports all pentium4/celeron speeds would work (400,533,800fsb). Here is a pretty good one.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=13-128-256&depa=0
It has 4 dual channel memory slots so it will have room for expansion, supports 400, 533, and 800fsb, and it has agp 8x(it also has a built in ati 9200 graphics card, so you don't need a graphics card if you don't need high end graphics).

Are you sure your cpu is a 2.5? I've never heard of that. I've seen 2.4 and 2.6.
Here's the motherboard cpu compatibility sheet, but it doesn't list 2.5, but both 2.4 and 2.6 are listed. 2.5 might be a "special" manufacturers only processor. It should work in this board.http://www.giga-byte.com/Motherboard/Support/CPUSupportList/CPUSupportList_GA-8TRS350MT.htm

hey lost fuze i already posted in your other post.

so the answer is duh!!!!.you bet ...a 478 pin means the processor has 478 pins and would fit in only a 478 pin socket.get it ....no big calculations to it,pretty simple and easy.a 478 pin would fit in a 478 pin socket.(not so hard)