Dual Boot: Adding HD w/ existing Win98 to machine w/ WinXP?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry if some of these questions are real basic, but I'm a newbie. I have recently purchased a computer that came preinstalled w/ WinXP. I would like to be able to add my old HD and dual boot with the pre-existing Win98 that was on it.

I've read a number of the tutorials that deal w/ dual booting. Most cover it from a standpoint of 1 HD (partitioning) or a fresh install of the OS's. Then I have also read that what I want can be accomplished by simply changing the boot.ini file some. Then I also read that Win98 is only bootable as the C: drive. I'm a bit confused??!!%$*

Can someone tell me if it is possible to add my old HD (Win98) to this new machine and be able to dual boot from either XP or 98 with XP being the default. I don't really want to go the route of boot utility if I don't have to and I'm trying to learn some stuff here too. Thanks much to all.

no problem at all

You would need special boot software able to select which drive is considered the primary drive at boot time, and does this without swapping the actual drives. Then having selected your old drive as the primary, it will boot as it used to with drive letter c: A perfect example is GAG booter (google for this free download - it can be run from a floppy disk for testing, and permanently installed if it hits the spot)

So far so good. The bigger problem is Win98 won't run well (or at all) until all necessary drivers are updated for the new motherboard. This goes right down to the chipset level as well as drivers for video, CD/DVD etc etc. Not always easy to find those drivers for Win98 these days, but it can sometimes be done. It is not easy. There are ways (we have covered this problem of moving to a new motherboard several times - do a search on this site).