Dual Boot

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have two hard drives and would like to be able to boot to either on start up with Windows installed separately on each.

I can then boot up one drive to run as a
Cubase only machine and the other as the everyday PC.

Effectively having two independent machines in one.

Is this possible?

Yes, you can have as much installations of Windows 2000 or XP on your machine as you like. You might want to edit the c:\boot.ini file, so that you can give a different name to each installation to reflect its differences or functions.

Pardon my ignorance here, I'm a bit of a novice..

I've looked at running more than one Windows on one partitioned drive via Addawins..

But what I want is 1 drive - 1 windows.

Ideally when i turn the computer on, it asks me which drive I want to boot. If I ask for drive 1, It boots up the first Windows, with all the drivers, internet connection.. etc as a normal PC
Drive 1 being the C drive

If I ask for drive 2, it boots up the other version of Windows with nothing but Cubase and the Windows essential files on the desktop. i.e Drive two becomes the C drive.

Each drive has it's own Windows on it, so effectively creating two separate computers..

sounds simple, i'm sure it's not!

Its exactly the same procedure to install a 2nd XP on

a) a different partition on the same hard drive, or

b) a different partition on a different hard drive.

During the installation, you will be asked to specify the target partition. Its really not hard.

Can you boot to Windows98 now? And do you want to have Windows98 on one and Windows 2k/XP on the other?