E6300 ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

codez13579

I have an old P4C Northwood @ 3.0 ghz. I c that new CPUs have Ghz numbers well below my Ghz. Take for example the E6300, standard it is around 1.86 (i think). Can someone explain this to me?

REMEMBER I AM A NEWBIE TO THIS PC WORLD.

thanks in advance

The new Core 2 Duo's use a completely different architecure than the old Prescott's and Northwood's. This new setup allows the chip to be faster even though the clock speed is lower. AMD has been doing this for a long time. They 'name' their chips with the equilivent intel speed. An old AMD Athlon XP 3000+ would (theoreticaly) run as fast as your P4, but at a much lower clock speed.

if the clock speed dont make a cpu faster, what makes a processor fast? i was under the impression that people "overclock" their cpu to make the processor faster. idk, still lost here.. Also who has the fasts processor AMD or Intel.

It's the internal architecture that determines the "speed" of a processor. The faster the CPU core can encode and decode information and pass this information to the peripherals of a PC, the "faster" it is. For example, the latest Core 2 Duos can encode a 700MB video much faster than your Pentium 4 or any AMD for that matter. So they are the best processors out there as of now.