Emachine restore xp still virus

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, this is my first time here so I will try to make this short and sweet. The computer I am refering to is my sister's so I am working from memory here. It is an emachine with a restore disc version of XP supplied with purchase. She was running an outdated verion of Norton Antivirus, by time she relized there was a problem it was enormous and her system crashed. Using the restore disc from the manufacturer, we did a full restore. She lost all information and programs, but in minutes the viruses were returning. We downloaded adaware, spybot, and AVG. Got a system clear and were reinfected by morninging (with out using the computer). Is it my imagination or is the system restore not totally formatting the hard drive and we have something in the background letting these viruses in. I am no computer wiz, but can follow instruction pretty well and have reformatted my own computer with much success. Any ideas or suggestions? If it helps she has an 'always on' internet connection through the phone company, no router or firewall (I know it is not the safest, but is it the cause here?). Thanks in advance!

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

I would say without question, that running the computer without a firewall is what`s causing the problem.

First download one of the free firewalls. Either zonealarm from http://www.zonelabs.com/store/content/catalog/products/sku_list_za.jsp?lid=dbtopnav_za

Or Agnitum outpost from http://www.agnitum.com/download/

Once you have downloaded the firewall, don`t install it, burn it to cd.

Disconnect her computer from the internet, then reformat and reinstall the os.

Once the os is installed, install the firewall, and then and only then connect to the internet.

Then go and get the latest Windows updates for her os.

Also may I suggest that once everything is ok, that you download Firefox from www.mozilla.org. It really is a lot safer than IE.