Emachines T2596 motherboard replacement

Status
Not open for further replies.
:( i'm new to hardware replacement and the motherboard on my emachines failed. how do i figure out exactly what i need for replacement? current mother board has 2.5 ghz celeron processor. any advice would be great.

Welcome to techspot.
Your system should have a socket 478 intel processor and ddr memory.
Your system likely uses a micro atx board, as many prebuilt systems do.
Here's a board that should be compatible with your current parts.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813128222

I've used this board, and think it's pretty nice. It should be much better than your current one though, as it supports cpus with up to a 800mhz fsb, including prescott cores and cpus with intel's ht tech(your celeron is a 400fsb), ddr memory up to pc3200 speed, (your ram is pc2100), and it also has an agp slot, so if you'd ever need faster video(for gaming etc), you can add in a graphics card. The board also has integrated graphics like your current board, so you wouldn't need to buy a graphics card if you don't want the extra expense.

The hardest part of replacing the board though will be getting the new motherboard connected to the pc case you have, specifically the power button, usb, and leds. I'm not exactly sure how your pc case is setup, but it likely can be connected to the motherboard. You probably will want to/have to reinstall windows after the replacement, since the motherboard is different. It might be possible to do a repair install of xp and keep your data intact.

If you want an exact replacement board, try searching ebay for your pc's model number and "motherboard".

Hope this helps.

Checked eBay but nothing available