Emachines T2865 killing PSUs

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi. A newbie here, so apologies in advance for my ignorance or breaks with Forum protocol.

I have an Emachines T2865 purchased in 2003 that just died on me. No power at all.
I removed and tested the PSU with a Multimeter and it was dead (as far as I could tell).
I replaced it with a 500W PSU via eBay. On receipt, I tested with the multimeter and got power. However, after installing the PSU and powering it up, it hung half way through the boot cycle so I rebooted ( I didnt note the beep sequence on the boot). This reboot killed the replacement PSU i.e. tested with the multimeter and it's dead.
Also note that I have several other machines on the same UPS powerline, so this ruled out bad power at source (I think).

At this point I started researching online and discovered that these types of issues are common with Emachine PSUs and mobos.

After reading a thread on this site, I thought it was the mobo, so I purchased a new mobo and yet another new PSU thru newegg.
"MB ECS 741GX-M+XPM 2400+CPU 462 "
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813135015
and a 350W PSU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817103934

With the new mobo and PSU installed, on the first try, after getting through the CMOS setup on the new MB, (basically looking around and setting the clock), I got a untrappable flashing blue screen and it went into a boot cycle. I tried in vain to capture the blue screen, but it happened too quickly. The screen appeared 7 seconds after it checked the disks on the boot cycle.
As I could not break from the cycle, I rebooted again, and this blew my new (third) PSU :(

So I am really at a loss on what is causing this or how to proceed.

1. could it still be the PSU, mobo or CPU?
2. could it be a virus?
3. Could it be that XP wouldnt boot because of the new mobo? (note I hadnt tried booting from an XP disk and now that the 3rd PSU is dead, I dont have that option.