EMachines T5026 upgrade suggestions please

Status
Not open for further replies.
Having read the stickies I am looking for a PSU recommendation. I would also like to upgrade my RAM and am seeking a recommendation for that as well. Newegg will be my source for both unless I'm directed elsewhere.

Currently I have the stock 2 sticks of 256MB and have 2 slots open. 4GB is the max. capacity for this unit. The sticky I read leaves me wondering how far I should go with this. I am led to believe that DDR-333 (PC2700) would work for me.

I've only taken my case off once to vacuum out the dust bunnies. Never the less I believe I can manage to do this much on my own. This is my first computer (3 years old now) and I've yet to approach it's capabilities. I am still a novice. Thanks.

$200 USD. I could go higher but this seems like a reasonable amount of money to spend to upgrade this computer.

it depends what you really want to upgrade it for really.

Gaming? Just a bit of extra speed? Either way the RAM upgrade you can't go wrong with, it's cheap and very effective. As for a PSU, the higher the wattage the better is a general rule of thumb. And as you have an Emac I'm surprised the PSU lasted 3 years in honesty (I'd replace it even if I didn't want to upgrade).

I'm no expert of specific parts at the end of the day it's what your motherboard will support. But no doubt plenty of other member will throw in there 2 cents. :D

I'm not much better with computers, assuming your OS (operating system) is XP getting another 512MB of RAM would be perfect, and it's easy to fit and cheap.

As for you're PSU if it's doing its job then there is no real need to replace it, unless of course you're considering a new graphics card or overclocking ect.

There is a sticky in this forum regarding eMachines PSU's that strongly recommends replacing them. As with the memory I was hoping to get a manufacturer recommendation, maybe even a link where I could actually buy the items.