Excel file builder evaluating desktops

Doug8765

Hi -
I have not figured out whether I should build my own computer, but I'm trying to evaluate the ads I see for desktops. My problem with desktop ads is that when proffered computers go up in price they always dramatically increase disk space, video power, memory and CPU, but I think I only need enhanced memory and CPU. I don't know how to evaluate the offerings.

I am an Excel file builder. I spend a lot of time building 100-200 megabyte Excel files and they just crawl. So frustrating. New cell entry is slow, navigation is slow, but I don't have more than 3 gigabytes of core Excel files. My backups are far more than that, but when the prices of a new proffered desktop heads into the most expensive then they seem to cost much more for features I will not need. What configuration do I need to do to get far faster Excel performance? Am I on the wrong track completely? How much faster are current desktop offerings than my HP p6240f?

My current system is a HP p6240f, Intel Core 2 Quad CPU, Q8300 2.50GHz with 8 GB installed memory running Windows 7.

I always appreciate the feedback from TechSpot forums.

Doug

Hmm; Yes large spreadsheets eat resources. Typical systems are 2+ Ghz and 4GB ram

A single sheet with 1000's of rows is basically unusable anyway and the user has to use 'find' to even locate where to begin.

The typical solution is to use a roll-up to summarize data elsewhere.

Take a large company Pnl as an example

Major items in the PnL are
  • ordinary income
  • gross Profit
  • expenses
  • net ordinary income
  • other income/expense
  • net other income
  • net Profit

Imaging the size of the income and expense sections if there are several departments and perhaps regional breakouts! Placing each of the above in its own spreadsheet and rolling-up the results allows access to the level of detail needed by the user.