Failure of XP boot, consistantly hitting walls with go arounds

Status
Not open for further replies.
(Note, everything in this has been from googling my errors over the last five days, myself, I know relatively nothing in this subject :) )
The background - I attempted to upgrade my Nvidia graphic card drivers following correct procedure, hit "ok" to about 20 screens with some tech jargon about "scripting" in them durning the uninstall of the drivers, after the uninstall completed, my net connection was dead as well, so no installing the new drivers. With nothing left to do (i'm new with this), I shutdown. Now, I get a blank screen after the windows XP loading screen (even in safe mode).
(Advanced warnings)
-it used to be a emachines, so no XP disk, I changed motherboards, so no recovery disk use.
- I have a burned XP pro disk, but I cannot boot from CD, no matter how I work it in BIOS. It simply gives me
"Booting from CD
"Booting from CD"
then throws me back into normal boot, and the blank screen.

What I DO have is a windows ME startup floppy, which gets me into DOS, where I can access that good old XP pro disk, but I can't get far in setup (D:\i386\winnt.exe), as it says windows needs some 380 MB of space for the temp files, and it cannot find a drive with that much space. I know I had 13% free space on my HD last time i looked. Nothing is backed up (learned a lesson here), so I don't want to format if possible, but If there is a way to delete from DOS, i'd gladly sacifice some programs such as EQ2 which can be reinstalled, to make the space.
(I noticed that in the very first paragraph when I start up, after the BIOS and graphic card info, it says I have "128mb RAM", but maybe its speaking of the card's ram, not my comp's?)

Below is various information i've gathered over the last week which hopefully could be of some use...
Windows XP Home
Gigabyte K8 Triton Series Nforce3 motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 processor
2x 512mb Mushkin DDR