Fewer people choosing computing science

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phantasm66

I work for a multinational investment bank as an operate programmer. Prior to that, I was a computer systems administrator in a university. Prior to that, I was a computer technician. But my degree is in political science. Does this matter?

USA Today reports that fewer college students are choosing computing majors. Last year, the number of newly declared computer science and computer engineering majors in the USA and Canada fell 23% vs. the year before.

IT isn't the cool place it once was. The dot-com bust and the bleak job market are to blame. Wages are not what they once were. IT isn't as attractive now.

However, as is noted on Slashdot, there are many, many fantastic IT people out there who don't have computing degrees. To be an IT high flyer, do you positively HAVE to have a computing science degree? I don't think so, what so you think?

No, it's not absolutely necessary to have the degree in computer science. However, the way the job market is right now, at least in the US, it's nearly impossible to find a job right now, even with a degree. So if someone wants to increase his/her odds of finding a job, they better think seriously about the degree. In your case Phant, you weren't affected by the dot-com crash, because you had a job in IT by the time that happened. Now imagine this scenario: you trying to barely get your foot into IT after the dot-com crash. That would probably have a different ending compared to your current outcome. I might be wrong, but those are my $.02. That's coming from someone with a CS degree and barely starting off into the working world (within IT, that is.).

I do feel sorry for people trying to break into the IT world right now, yes. If you are already in, times are tough but they can be survived.