Forum suggestion

Ididmyc600

As I trawl through the new posts and see something I can reply to, I often ask myself, "how much about PC's does this guy/girl know". Ok some of them have followed advice and posted their specs so you could presume they are pretty savvy, however coming from a support desk background I have dealt with everyone from newbies with no idea what a mouse is to those who have used PC;s for a while.

My proposal is a scale next to the name with 1 being a complete novice to 10 being someone who has worked with PC's for a while and is pretty competent at most if not all aspects of PC's.

This means that people answering his questions could do so with either a breakdown of the fix or simply a quick guide dependant on the rating.

The user could during the course of his stay at techspot adjust the scale accordingly as his knowledge grows.

I do understand that their are different sections of the forum, for instance when it comes to malware removal I rate a 2, someone like howard would rate a 10.

I can see that there are 12 different subject catagories covered by techspot, maybe adding to the users profile a list of the catagories and the relevant scale would allow people to check the profile and see how competent they are at a particular subject.

Regards

Are you trying make Techspot as complicated as Facebook ? :confused:

It`s usually pretty clear from the nature of the question,and how it`s asked,

what the level is.

A big problem here..

Many people are way less knowledgeable than they think. Even worse, they would rather deliberately break their computer and call you names than admit it.

I would trust the objectivity of those people who say their rating is 1-3. And I would steer far away from anyone who dares to say they are 9 or 10.

BlameCanada said:
Are you trying make Techspot as complicated as Facebook ? :confused:

It`s usually pretty clear from the nature of the question,and how it`s asked,

what the level is.