Gaming and such

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Darken_Rahl

Need Advice:
I am buying a new computer, and I plan to play Computer games such as Warcraft III frozen Throne. One thing that I am looking for is graphics. My old computer has a terrible graphics card and was a lap top, so on my new computer, i want a much better gaming experience. If anyone has any ideas please tell me. I need information on the following:
Computer (Brand, mods etc.)
Video Card (Geforce, Radeon, What?)
A place to buy them (preferably a website)
A semi-affordable price (I want the goods, but somewhere in the $1000 to $1999 dollar range (or less if it is available) )
Please don't use terms that are incredibly advanced, i am a novice :p

Well hi, and welcome to TechSpot. :D :wave:

If you don't know how to make your own custum computer that's OK.

Places such as ABS and Alienware are good places to buy your PC at. ABS has lower prices than Alienware so I suggest looking at them first.

Personally, I used to run Warcraft 3 and Frozen throne on a 1.8GHz Pentium 4, 512MB of RAM (memory), and a GeForce 4 MX 64 MB card. It was really smooth and nice.

But with prices today, you can get a really good one. I would highly recomend a Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB video card.

As for processors:

AMD is bang for the buck, and is pretty much as fast as Intel's... go for an Athlon XP or if you want to harness the new technology of the 64 bit, go for the Athlon 64. It's really your choice, you could chose Intel Pentium 4 if you wanted to.

I'm pretty sure, that if you wait 'til christmas, alot of the 32 bit processors (Athlon XP, Pentium 4), will shoot down in prices. Now it's the dawn of the 64 bit processors, you may want to harness that technology for the future.

As for RAM (memory):

You'd wanna go for 1024MB of RAM (1GB of RAM). Games actually show minor performance increases now, and if you wanna hold onto your PC for a long time, newer games will need 1GB of RAM to run nice and smooth.