Gaming motherboard

Status
Not open for further replies.

CompuGeek247

Hi this is my first time that im ever going to be buying a motherboard for my system. Ive installed everything but a motherbpard on my comp.
I basically started out with a compaq computer which i now realize is the cheapest crapiest system that they sell at ridiculous prices. I mean the system i bought was basically worth about 600 dollars max if i had bought the components seperately, but i bought the comp for 1200.00. well you live and learn. Well compaq, if anything im greatful for tought me something, it made me learn about the computer hardware inside. I am no longer a newb when it comes to hardware on computers well at least imo.

Anyway the new board i want to get is the Asus Avn8x Deluxe coupled with a athlon XP 2700+. I have done a tremendous amount of research about a month's worth and i have come to the conclusion that this is about as good as i can get for gaming without breaking the 350.00 mark. Im a student so i cant really afford the top end boards such as intel which is just absolutely crazy when you add up how much the ram would cost just to eqiup one of there boards.

About a month later i would add a radeon 9700 pro to the board but cant go all out right now.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated on just telling me if im making the right decision with picking this board. I have read the forum and i saw the there is high marks for this board, but i want a gaming board and i couldnt see any pionts being made on this board on gaming. I have seen pionts being made on other sites that i did my research on, but having a person that experienced it would be helpful.
Anyway im sorry if this thread is too big but thank you if you took the time to read it. Any advice if any would be helpful in telling me if this is the right board for me in gaming needs. Thank you once again.