Help! Changed PSU, now it won't power up at all with new or old one.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I changed my PSU on my Dell Dimension 8300 to a Antech 350W. Along the way I tried to put the mobo in a different case that came with a PSU, in the process removing the CPU. I'm new to all this so I dont know if I majorly screwed up or what, but since that didn't work, I put everything back in the Dell box, returned the case, bought the PSU, stuck it in the dell, (with a little modification of the case so the outlet could be accessable) and then tried to power up. Nothin, nada. I thought I may have not seated the CPU properly so as I hit the power button I applied a little pressure to the heat sink, and the fans started sputtering and I heard a few nasty beeps before it stopped altogether. Now its as before, except nothing will stimulate that little response. Please, any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated, I don't need a dead computer right now, no money to replace it (just spent more than I could afford on the video card and PSU).

That PSU is not compatible with the crappy Dell motherboards.
Dell have their own, proprietary, PSUs made, and they use different wiring from anybody else.
Buy a new, standard motherboard that can accommodate your current CPU and Memory. Everything else should fit the way it is.
You'll have to reinstall Windows and the rest from scratch (NOT with any Dell recovery disks!)

Alternatively, compare the wire-colours on the 20/24 pin connector that goes to the motherboard. Change the Antec PSU wiring according to the Dell PSU wiring, and you might be lucky. It's a bit of a fiddle, but should work.