Help installing graphics card PLEASE.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I am totally new to the world of graphics cards, and upgrading computers.

I have a dell dimensions 2400 series computer. I just bought a GeForce 5500FX graphics card (PCI). The graphics card I am currently using is a intel (R) 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV or intel (R) Extreme, and it is intergrated, which I am not to sure what that means. I need help installing my geforce, and also I need to know if this card is going to be compatible with my motherboard.

Integrated means that your computer has a video card on-board. literrally ON its BOARD. Notice if you look inside the computer that you connect your monitor directly to the motherboard.

http://images.tigerdirect.com/itemdetails/P56-5501COUT.jpg

You have purchased a PCI video card, so you'll have to insert it into one of the PCI slots on your board. Usually you can do this and the motherboard will pick it up automatically.

Simply flic the OFF switch on the power supply so that no power can come through. Open your case and ground yourself (touch a piece of metal on the case) to remove any static. Insert the card into one of the PCI slots (there's 3 of them on a dimension and they are white. (you may need to unscrew one of the thin metal coverings on the back of the case. each slot has its own cover). Before you close the case, make sure the CARD fan is plugged into the 3 prong tiny outlet on its card. Now move your monitor cable from your Integrated Video port, to its new home on the video card.

That should be good enough for the computer to recognize it. But you probably got a DRIVER CD which should be installed (or downloaded from the website) as soon as windows boots up, to make the card work at full performance.