Help - need to disable file sharing

Status
Not open for further replies.

billyellis

OK, not a complete newbie, but I am new at networking.

I wanted to share files b/w my desktop and new laptop, so I went through the Network Setup Wizard on both machines and did everything required, then rebooted. But neither computer shows up on the other computer's network group.

??

Both are running XP Home behind a cable modem and router (both Linksys), with ZonaAlarm.

Anyway, so now I am a security risk with no file sharing benefit, and so I wanted to disable file sharing, etc right away. So I went through the Wizard again, this time switching to "Turn off file and printer sharing."

But the confirmation page still congratulates me for activating file sharing at the end, and the workgroup is still listed in My Network Places.

So:

(a) IS file sharing actually disabled now? How can I tell? How can I make sure that I am not open to attacks over the internet at the moment? Might I have a bunch of ports open that I don't know about now?

(b) Am I missing a step on the whole network setup procedures? Why can't I see the other computers in the workgroup once I have set up the home network using the Wizard?

(c) Can I set up file sharing in a way that ignores the internet connection and simply uses the router, thereby making the network safer and separated from the internet?

Thanks!

Update: I accessed a Wireless Network for the first time with the laptop today and to do so I had to re-activate a service in msconfig that I had previously disabled manually (WZC), which got me wondering whether the reason the computers were not seeing one another might be due to another disabled service??

Attached is a cap of the currently disabled services. Are any of them needed to create a functional home network?

Thanks. :)