Help streamlining Suse linux 10.0

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am sorry if this has been discussed before on this site(most sites will make a Big deal over that rather than just helping or giving a link). But i am very new to linux an i am needing some help making it react faster and do the same stuff as i can on windows. I really like the way things are done on linux but it is reacting somuch slower than my windows does. i have all the drivers Nvidia offers but i still cant get it to run as fast. any tips towards that would be a big help plus i am having a problem istalling programs, sometimes it works perfectly and other times (the majority it gives me an error and says it can't finish compiling. If i use a RPM it does fine but most programs only have RPMs for FC or Redhat. plus i have heard that it is much better for performance to compile. my biggest thing right now is that i want to watch .MPG movies and .wmv movies I tryed to install Mplayer with the GUI and it says that i dont have GTK Devel WTF? its there i have it installed and it it the most up to date so i tryed to install it without the GUI and it gets to a point after about 5 mins and it errors out and says it cant exit some folder and it wont go any further. that is about the furthest i have gotten on 90% of files i have tryed to install. it gets real anoying when i get going and dont have any problems, i have actually forgotten i am using linux at times then BAM i hit a brick wall cause i cant get something to work. I tryed installing UT2004 and it wont recognize when i put in disk 2 it keeps asking for it. :blackeye: