Help "vcr to computer"

Status
Not open for further replies.

art601st

Hello, I'm new here and I am trying to connect a 8mm vcr to my Dell computer. I have RCA connection on the output and I was told to try to use the USB input of the computer. Is that the right way to go and if so, where can I obtain such a cable? Art

It's about $80.00 more than a cable, you need a capture device to convert composite video (yellow RCA) to USB 2.0. Here's one http://www.plextor.com/english/products/ConvertX-AV100U.htm (note: I have no experience with this unit, though Plextor has a good reputation). If you're still running Win98, you're in for a bad time. Video captue and editing requires a lot of horse power. You need a fast machine with at least a gig of RAM and a bunch of drive space. Figure on 1GB per 4 minutes.

Another option is to install an internal video capture card such as an ATI All In Wonder. This is what I have on one of my machines and it works quite well.

If you get semi-serious about this, you ought to get a miniDV camera and go 1394 FireWire for your interconnect. This totally rocks! I only use the ATI capture card when dealing with old footage shot on legacy media.

recording video to computer

I already have a capture card devince in my computer. I had called Dell and they informed me of such. They just don't tell me enough for me to get going. I also have a cable (yellow) which I believe is the video cable with a RCA plug on it and the other end is with a miniture plug and it has some sort of device next to it. It's about 1/2 in diameter and 1 1/2" length. I don't know what it's for. I have a jack in the rear of the computer next to the audio input which is color coded yellow. Is that the input for the video? Once I get this going then I will follow up on your advice and improve whatever I can on it. Art