HELP!: Win XP says my 80gb is only 74.5gb

Status
Not open for further replies.
(my hardrive: 80gb segate baracuda)
Its my first time to use partition magic 8 and I was unaware of what i was doing...

during my first run i tried to create a new partition on my hardrive...it was then that i noticed a gray icon below my main partition---it says unallocated..not knowing what the heck "unallocated partition" was i continued on creating a partition.(ignoring the unallocated one)...everything went fine..then suddenly i decided to merge the partition i created (it was roughly about 30gb)..again the process was a success.

but the one thing that bothers me now is that my hardrive is not showing up a full 80gb of hardisk space (even in partition magic my drive only displays 74.5gb)...there was no hidden partition to be found what so ever...my question is were did the rest of my hardrive space go???? does it have something to do with the unallocated space i ignored before i created a new partition???

I was playing around with partition magic then suddenly i found this resizing cluster option so i went there the check what it was about...there i saw a bunch of wasted clusters...i tried to sum it up...and its around 5 +/- gb. is this my missing partition???

From within My Computer, if you Right click on the drive and choose properties, what does it state there?

I have a Maxtor 80GB thats

Capacity : 81,948,430,336 but also, 76.3GB

You sure you're just not confused by the whole :-

1MB = 1024Kb etc..

There's nothing wrong!!!

I can't remember the explanation for it, but believe it or not, floppy disks have the same strange size difference.

In terms of hard disk space, If I remember my figures correctly, you loose about 0.4 GB of space per 10GB of the stated size...

eg, a 10 GB drive is acctually about 9.6 GB in terms of usable space. You can take that as read if you like, but I dare say that someone here can remember the full reason and figures for it.

Gladly,