Help with Choosing CPU

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

tifc8lraz

I am trying to update my Celeron Processor, as it is too underpowered, and is not meant for gaming. What I am asking is what kind of processor should I get? I have a P4M800PRO Socket 478 Via Motherboard. I am not an expert with choosing the proper precessor, and am wondering what is compatible besides Pentium 4.

Can you give us the make and model of the board? P4M800PRO is the VIA Northbridge controller. ECS does also make a Mobo with this as the boards model number. So any more info would be helpful.

It does appear that most of the mobo models that use this board can upgrade to a P4 and some can go to the Pentium D. You may want to upgrade your memory, too. It can handle DDR400 or DDR2 533.

Well I'd have to say that at this point your RAM is bottlenecking your system far more than your processor is.

EDIT: Here's a list, courtesy of Newegg.

Charles said:
Well I'd have to say that at this point your RAM is bottlenecking your system far more than your processor is.

EDIT: Here's a list, courtesy of Newegg.

I am upgrading it to 768mb.

I am wondering though, is my video card being bottlenecked by the processor in any way?

Yup. Celeron's are not meant for gaming. They are basically crippled P4's as they do not have nearly as much L2 memory. You would be much better off gaming with a P4, some more memory (possbily upgrade to 1 GB PC3200 $84 at Newwg for Corsair ValueSelect), and a stronger vid card. Does your board support PCI-e? I see that you have an AGP card right now, but some mobo models have both.

Hi cfitzarl,
Is your system an ECS P4M800PRO-M478? We really can't offer much help until we know precisely what mainboard model you have. If you are unsure, google and download CPU-Z. Run this program and see if it reports what mainboard you have in the top tab listed as "Mainboard".

If we assume it's the ECS, then we need to know: