Hey guys. need help with firewall

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey everyone , im really new to dealing with viruses ive never really had a bad one before. I got one the other day which turned off my firewall and wouldnt allow me to turn it back on.
Ive run ewido and spybot and ive seemed to 'cured' it and the security warning has gone but my firewall still wont turn on. Im pretty sure the virus has gone but i just want to be sure.
(also the virus was giving me issues with msn turning it off n such. this mean ive infected other pc's?) would apreciate any feedback & sorry if ive posted in the wrong section.
Ill attach a scanlog if that will help.
thanks guys
ashton

*edit*read that scanlog lol think its pretty useless.

Go into the "Security" forum (I think you're here), and look at the various stickies. There is info for cleaning out lots of garbage, uses lots of techniques and programs and scanning and using Safe Mode and so on. You would be wise to follow those first.
Afterwards, come back here, and post a Hijackthis log as an attachment.

Once we KNOW you're clean, then we'll see about the firewall issue, because it's probably just a corrupt dll or service that needs restarted. But it's best to get clean first. No use brushing your hair when your clothes are covered in mud!

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Go HERE and follow the instructions exactly.

Post fresh HJT and Ewido logs as attachments into this thread, only after doing the above.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

This thread is for the use of Ashton only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.

thanks guys im just in the process of scanning my computer now. just wanted to add that since i had the virus my computer seems to be downloading or uploading and the connection seems really slow & im worried someone is either using my pc to upload or download more viruses. Also the security warning is back.