Home networking again!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a bit of a newbie at this, but would appreciate any advice/help on a problem with my home network. This is the situation and what I have done.
I have a PC upstairs running Windows ME.
I have just bought a new PC and put it downstairs. This is running Windows XP.
The new PC is all bells and whistles and is set up for wireless networking.
A friend of mine had a BT Voyager card which I installed in the PC upstairs.
I then went through various network set up wizards in an attempt to get the 2 PCs to talk to each other. Eventually I checked a box which referred to ad-hoc networking and hey presto it all suddenly burst into life and both machines could see each other (well the shared folders I had defined anyway). Marvellous, and all was hunky-dory at this stage.

I had set it up to grant read only/update access based on 2 different passwords.