Host File

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheJediSlayer

I thought I'd fill everyone in on a great host file that'll protect and save you bandwidth against such things as ads, pop-ups, and parasites etc. This host file's goal, is to provide you with enhanced security, and still faster web browsing.

Source: http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm

My Review:

I've been using this host file site for many months now. I must say that I'm very impressed with how much ads and banners it does away with. It's probably saved me a few times from some harmful online material too. The only real problem I've ever had with using this host file, is one time I wasn't able to login to Xfire because of it. Although I did manage to get my Xfire working again by replacing the host file and then later on reinstalling the host file from this site. I've never really had a problem since then.

Want an example? Use MS regular host file and check out Myspace.com. Heck, even long into it if you have an account there. Notice how you probably get a lot of banner ads etc? Now install the host file from the website I've provided above and watch those banner ads disappear!

Level: Intermediate

Best of all, it's free!

Yes, but should be noted that not everyone uses Opera. Plus, this will help against parasites etc. I do recommend that everyone stays updated with their preferred choice in web browser, as more security is added, just like in Opera.

Don't only trust this host file as your only layer of security, it stops a lot, but not enough.

TheJediSlayer said:
Don't only trust this host file as your only layer of security, it stops a lot, but not enough.
yes, yes, yes! :)

FYI: the host file is a manual alternative to a DNS lookup which converts a name
like www.google.com into its proper ip address (74.125.19.147) so a connection can be made.
You can actually put this line (but don't!) in the host file and avoid the DNS lookup: eg
74.125.19.147 www.google.com