How can I reset my computer?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I bought this HP Pavilion ze2000 this last March at a Military PX, but they only had this one and it was a demo. I guess everything is on it and alot of stuff I don't need. I am relatively new to computers and I get my email and I can surf the net, but the problem is this thing is running slower and slower, I have read a bunch of articles at different tech sites, but I don't understand them. I just want my machine to be like it was when it was new. I have done the system restore but it only goes back to June. I can't afford to take it somewhere, I wouldn't even know what they were doing to it, and I don't want to let just anybody into my personal stuff. Is there any way that I could just take everything off and start over? Thanks a bunch. sandrathered52

You could reset everything on it by reinstalling Windows, but seeing as you bought at a military surplus sort of thing, I doubt they gave you a disk to do this. You would need to go buy a copy of Windows XP and just put it in the computer and tell it to wipe the disk and reset everything.

As mentioned above, if you have a restore disc, that's the way to do it. It will completely reinstall Windows and your software - deleting everything that is currently on it. You might want to backup your files first, before you do this.

You don't need to buy a copy of XP. Contact HP about getting replacement restore discs for your computer. They just need to the serial number of the unit. You can also 'borrow' another restore disc for a simliar model from a friend or neighbor and use it, as long as you use your own product key (Holographic sticker located on the rear section of the unit, usually)

Hi, i am relatively new when it comes to computers but i do understand the basics. Before u do a full system restore have u tried the basics,
Scandisk
Defragment
Diskclean Up