How do I connect my PS2 to my PC monitor?

ramonsterns

So I bought a PS2 a week ago and was looking into hooking it up to my PC/Monitor rather than my TV. Does anyone know what I would need to make this possible?

A cheap alternative would be preferable, but if not I can save up if I really, really want it on my PC.

If you post your monitor make and model we can check out what video connections it has and recommend the best way of hooking up the PS2 to it :)

If you post your monitor make and model we can check out what video connections it has and recommend the best way of hooking up the PS2 to it :)

This one here.

Also, is there any way to connect it directly to my computer via USB, perhaps?

I've been looking through eBay for a while and came across this and this, but since I have no experience hooking up TV stuffs to my computer, I can't tell if they would work.

Thanks.

Something like this
http://www.amazon.com/Multi-Input-PlayStation-Gamecube-Dreamcast-Camcorder/dp/B000JCLLUW

This will convert the PS2 output to a vga signal, which can then be connected to the VGA port of your monitor.

Some conversion processes will cause a lag in your gaming experience (undesirable).
You would not want, for example, to send the ps2 to a video/tv capture device, and then from there send it out to your monitor.
This kind of direct conversion would be better.
The cable you found on ebay... dunno... prices that look too good to be true often are.

Second look...
neither ebay link is desirable.
1. Converts the wrong direction (vga to analog).
2. the second is for video capture, see above.

Also... You may find this discussion to be enlightening...
http://arstechnica.com/civis/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=255825

Sorry, been distracted with work.
Looking at that model the only connections for video on it are HDMI and VGA.
This means that you'd have to buy a convertor for the PS2 signal as B00kWyrm has already suggested.