How To Install A Slave Hd

Status
Not open for further replies.
PLEASE HELP ME, I'M REALLY A NEWBIE IN COMPUTERS, KNOW HOW TO WORK WINDOWS AND STUFF AND THATS ABOUT IT. WHEN I BOUGHT MORE RAM I WAS ABLE TO SIMPLY INSTALL IT MYSELF, HOWEVER NOW I GOT A KINDA OLD HD THAT I'D LIKE TO SET UP AS A SLAVE DRIVE, HOWEVER IM NOT REALLY SURE WHERE TO PUT IT, WHERE THE DATA HOLES OF THE DRIVE GO. I KNOW ABOUT THE "STOPPERS" THAT YOU SET TO PUT THE SELECTED HD IN SLAVE MODE. ALSO DO I NEED TO DO ANYTHING IN WINDOWS (I HAVE WIN XP PRO) OR IN BIOS(MOST LIKELY).

THIS OLD HD (3.5 GB) I GOT FROM AN OLD PC THAT A FRIEND OF MINE THREW OUT AND I ASKED HIM TO KEEP IT SO I COULD USE SOME OF ITS PARTS. FROM IT IT ALSO HAS A SOUNDCARD CREATIVE LABS MODEL CT4500, I HAVE THE INTEGRATED AC97 IN MY MOTHERBOARD, WHICH I HATE, WOULD THIS CARD BE A GOOD IDEA TO INSTALL???? AND IF SO HOW??

PLEASE DO HELP ME, I'D REALLY APPRECIATE IT.

Welcome To TechSpot

Apart from setting the jumper on the hard disk (stoppers :) ) to "SLAVE" or "CABLE SELECT", you might have to go into the bios after connecting the disk to the IDE connector that your "MASTER" disk is connected to. You bios will probably have an auto detect feature for detecting IDE devices. Run this auto detect and it should pick up the new drive. You shouldn't have to do anything else. You may not even have to go into the bios. It might pick the disk up automatically anyway. Just don't plug it in or unplug it when the machine is on. IDE drives are usually not hot swappable :)

I'm not sure about the quality of the sound card, but usually they utilise the CPU less and don't suffer from the crackling and noise from interference that onboard sound often suffers from.

Hope this helps....

I believe that sound card is an SB AWE64 which is most likely ISA.
I'm not sure but I'd think because of the age of that card, the AC97 may be better than the card. I looked it up and found some selling for $12 if that is any idea.

ALL CAPS.. AHHH!!