How to watch tv on pcand capture it? (newbie)

Status
Not open for further replies.

vlatko

hello!

so basically, i would like to be able to watch tv on my pc, and of course capture somthing from time to time on my hard disk.

could someone explain what i need? i did some researching and i found out my graphics card can capture from tv(correct me if i'm wrong cause i'm new to this thing)

my specs are:
>>my video card<<
amd athlon 3500+
abit an8 sli
1gb ram
wd caviar sata 250gb
seageate 120gb

so basically i used a s-video cable and connected one end to my tv and the other to the video-in port of my VIVO cable which i recieved with my video card. i installed the nVidia wdm capture drivers, and the latest graphcis card drivers with no problems.

i tried using the windows movie maker to capture something, i selected my capture device nVidia wdm but all i get is a black screen...

can anyone help a newbie at this? is there some more cables, hardware i have to get? if so, what can you recomend?

thanks a lot in advance. :)

vlatko said:
Hi

i used a s-video cable and connected one end to my tv and the other to the video-in port of my VIVO cable which i recieved with my video card.
Are you sure your TV is outputting anything through S-Video? It's usually used the other way around.

You need a VCR's video out and a composite in to the video card as VCRs don't output in s-video. I have a TV wonder and that works good. I also have a all in wonder 9600, but kind of sad not to be able to upgrade video so it's doing nothing now. :(

ok, everything works fellas, much obliged. ;)

but i got some other questions. :) can i watch for example one channel on my pc and a other on the tv? i am using a program called d-saler and it's really good, but i can't seem to figure out that option, if it exsists at all, or is possible with my configuration?

if i can't could you perhaps say what hardware/software i should get?

thanks!