I need your opinion / hint to get a new MoBo (to replace my current damaged one).

Status
Not open for further replies.

franklogus

Hi all !

Few days ago, I had a problem with my back-up PC (it do not more complete the POST, and only make long beeps), and the technician who checked it said that the problem is in my current MoBo (Asus P4SDX). As it is (thanks God!) within the warranty time, I will RMA it.

However, the specific model of my current MoBo is not much common (it's difficult to find it; at least here, in Brazil); so, I think that I will need to choose another model (from this same brand - ASUS or from any other brand).

As I am not an expert in these matters (far from this), I would like some hints/tips about Brands/Models of MoBos which could fit well in my current spec...

My back-up PC basic spec is:

- Processor: P4 2.8 533 MHz

- MoBo (socket 478): Asus P4SDX (damaged - to be replaced)

- RAM: 1.024 MB DDR 333 (Kingston Value Ram) - 04 sticks of 256 MB each one.

- Gigabyte Radeon 9600 XT

- 02 HDDs: 01 Maxtor 120 GB, 7200 rpm, ATA-133 + 01 Seagate 40 GB, 7200 rpm, ATA-100

Well, the pre-conditions that I would like to see in my next Mobo is stability and reliability. So, I think its very important to hear who has experience with determinated brand/model and do not have continuous issues...

In addition, it would be necessary that the MoBo would have 04 slots (I will fill all them), and that it support DDR 333 PC 2700 & AGP 8X.

As it is my "back-up" PC, I do not need one model of MoBo which rich features...

Well, that's it... I hope somebody here can help me suggesting options, no matter what brand / model...

Thanks in advance for any help !

what mobo u should get